Posted by: miteb | July 17, 2008

This is MiteB

MiteB is a pun…. it’s the name I came up with for my conversion van to camper van project and it indicates that is might be a B, but a small one.

It is a 1996 Dodge B2500 high top conversion van that I bought last winter for $850. When I bought it the previous owner had removed the middle seats, added a sink and bigger 3-way fridge, and made a recess in the floor to allow him to stand in the middle of the van. He also added a house battery and a battery selector switch.

If I had known I was going to buy a van and do this project I might have looked longer and bought a van that didn’t need body work… that’s on the “to-do” list.

Still has the for sale sign

Still has the for sale sign

This is a photographic tour of MiteB.

Responses

  1. Great job with the blog and the van. Wow – I can’t get over the deal you got on the high top Dodge van ….. $850 !

  2. awesome conversion is it your first? We are just starting van dwelling though our van isnt finished yet..how did you get your wood for 0$??

  3. Thanks! Yes, it is the first time I’ve tried to do this, but I did have an 84 Ford class B once so I had a little idea of what I wanted to do. You wouldn’t think so if you compared the two floor plans though…the only thing they have in common is the general location of the sink.
    I got the plywood for free from work, it was left over after the stone masons made patterns for a 50 foot wide granite staircase they made in a customer’s back yard. I do need to buy one sheet to finish the walls and the sink cabinet though (There’s going to be a wall at the end of the microwave shelf.)
    I wish I could try to live in it, but the wife would NEVER go for that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

