Posted by: miteb | July 17, 2008

Jump ahead to the pictures

Well, typical me, I thought about taking pictures during the build, but didn’t for a couple of reasons…not the least of which is simply that I didn’t really know I was doing this much! However, it’s not done, so these are pretty much in progress shots anyway.

There are no pictures of the interior from before I started. I feel bad about that now. I would like you to see the contrast between then and now.


When the side doors are opened, this is what you see…

View in the side doors

View in the side doors

You’re looking at the “kitchen” to your left, the bathroom straight ahead. The cabinet for the kitchen isn’t done, and is going to be modified slightly. The door on the end (which you see partly open) will be the entire end of the cabinet, and made of cabinet grade maple plywood. Right now it’s just some scrap 1/2″ plywood I had so that I could close it up.
The kitchen contains the sink, faucet, mini-fridge and water system. The water is currently supplied to the sink with a 2.5 gallon garden sprayer, but I’ll be swicthing to a small electric pump before too much longer… the sprayer doesn’t hold pressure very long.

Just inside door is the drain tank, almost hidden to the right is the garden sprayer.

Just inside door is the drain tank, almost hidden to the right is the garden sprayer.

The sink itself is the only original piece from the previous owner's interior conversion. I sold the fridge before I even started, it was too big.

The sink itself is the only original piece from the previous owner's interior conversion. I sold the fridge before I even started, it was too big.

The cabinet will all be closed in when it’s done, and the edge of the counter top will be a thin band of oak to match the wood already in the conversion.


This area will be floored with commercial grade charcoal carpet, and the vertical sides will be oak boards, finished to match the factory interior wood.

This area will be floored with commercial grade charcoal carpet, and the vertical sides will be oak boards, finished to match the factory interior wood.

This recess in the floor was done by the previous owner. I can stand up straight here without hitting my head…barely.


Moving further back we see the bed/dinette area. This is the passenger side seat, which is also a storage box. Also visible is the 3″ PVC pipe that is the leg for the table. The unfinished piece of plywood you see in the back is part of the bed, it can be removed, but doesn’t need to be, when the table is up as it is in this picture. I made the boxes out of plywood and upholstered them with a heavy fleece fabric over plastic foam. I also made the seat cushions…. no wondered I waited until I was 59 to start using a sewing machine…it was a pain in the ass!

Lots of bulk storage here... these box seats are 24x39 inches! (Notice the tiled floor!)

Lots of bulk storage here... these box seats are 24x39 inches! (Notice the tiled floor!)

Did you notice the insulation? The panel is off the door because I need to replace the door latch and haven’t gotten one yet. The door is temporarily screwed shut from the inside.


This is the inside of the bathroom (fancy name for “porta-potti closet you can barely move in”). Still haven’t decided what the inside walls will be.. though I’m leaning toward that white paneling you see in some cheap motel baths and service stations.


Did anyone mention appliances? I have a toaster, small Forman grill, microwave and Coleman 2 burner stove (whch is seen in the sink pictures). The microwave is currently on a shelf, but this will be a cabinet at some point… although the plastic storage is pretty adaptable (and cheap!)


The converter is mostly behind this header, with just the front showing. All wiring is behind the header. There's a VCR behind that closed door.

The converter is mostly behind this header, with just the front showing. All wiring is behind the header. There's a VCR behnd that closed door.


This is how I mounted the converter box for the TV…


There will be more pictures to come as I finish things. The paneling is getting stained golden/aged oak… the carpet will be replaced with the new commercial grade stuff, and the cabinets will get finished.

Responses

  1. Very Cool!

    michael… from VanDwellers


Leave a Reply

Categories

