Posted by: miteb | August 23, 2008

Updates

Things hae been very slow on the van of late… life interfered! This week has see some progress though, so I thought I’d record it.

First… Miteb has new shoes! The ones on it were getting very worn so I’ve been watching Craigslist and finally found a set of very good tires for the unbelievable price of $75! One of them has never even been mounted, the other 3 have very few miles on them. With my finances is the normal state ( which is to say… horrible!) I couldn’t afford new tires from a dealer, so I’m thrilled to have found these.

I also replaced the balljoints on the right side. Doing it myself I saved a ton! Used the company discount at one of our suppliers and managed to do both upper and lower for $63 and about an hour of labor. I feel like the truck is much safer now, though they weren’t as worn as I thought anyway.

And the best update is that the wood walls and trim are now stained! A friend did it for me while I worked yesterday ( cost me 2 packs of cigarettes and a 12 pack of Natural Light) and it looks pretty good! Best of all, the color came up as close to the color of the wood trim that was in the van anyway so I’m a happy man! I’ll give it another light sanding and a finish coat and then post pictures.

I’m traveling to Maine tomorrow.Will be spending the  night in Miteb, and looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

